How to manage your team effectively

Your people are your best asset to help the organisation achieve its targets and make its goals a reality.

When you know how to manage your team effectively, the rewards can be measured in terms of outstanding productivity, high levels of staff retention and the company’s ability to attract top talent.

But to manage your team, you need to do more than encourage employees to work hard. A few smart strategies can help you get the best from your people.

Manage your team through consistent leadership

A consistent leader is the backbone of any team. To manage your team effectively, your people need to know that you will treat everyone fairly and equally both in terms of rewards and discipline.

By adopting an unbiased approach to each team member – without playing favourites, your employees will know exactly where they stand at all times, and this provides a firm platform on which to build a cohesive team.

Communicate clearly

To manage your team effectively, you need to be able to communicate goals, instructions, deadlines and directives, in a way that everyone understands. Many of your employees want to perform to the best of their ability, and it can be extremely frustrating when they are confused about the job at hand.

Think carefully about the instructions you give – and how you explain them. Take the time to spell things out, and provide your team plenty of opportunities to ask for clarification. Be sure to maintain an atmosphere where employees are comfortable approaching you if they have any uncertainties about what is required of them.

Lead by example

As a leader, your people look to you to demonstrate the sort of behaviour that the company wants to cultivate. This means you need to show a strong work ethic, maintain a positive outlook – even when the pressure is on, and pitch in to help team members when deadlines are approaching.

If you arrive late to meetings, your staff have no real reason to be punctual. If you are easily stressed during periods of peak workflow, your employees are more likely to lose their temper also. This highlights the need to be conscious that your team are looking to you to set an example of employees should behave.

Encourage innovation

Team leaders don’t have a monopoly on good ideas. A team is stronger when everyone is able to have their say, and each person’s unique point of view is considered.

Innovation can only happen when team members feel comfortable making suggestions, knowing that they won’t be embarrassed or made to feel silly. Let your people take the initiative by asking, “What are your thoughts on this?” rather than just telling them what to do, and aim to foster an environment where fresh ideas are taken seriously and innovation is celebrated.

Being prepared to engage in open dialogue with your employees and modelling a personal commitment to your company, can be instrumental in managing your team. It requires effort and dedication but a well-managed team will deliver measurable results in terms of productivity, staff loyalty and innovation.

Discover more management advice

Learn more advice for your hiring and management.

如何管理好一个团队

员工是您最重要的资产,他们能帮助组织实现目标。

当您知道如何管理好一个团队时,其回报将表现为生产效率高、员工留职率高以及公司能吸引到顶级人才。

但管理团队需要的不仅仅是鼓励员工努力工作。一些关于如何管理好一个团队的巧妙策略能让您充分发挥员工的才能。

通过公平公正的领导来管理团队

一个公平公正的领导是任何团队的主干。为了有效地管理团队,必须让员工知道您会在奖励和纪律方面公正、平等地对待每一个人。

通过采用公正的态度对待每一位成员,即从不偏袒任何一方,在任何时候员工们都会知道他们所处的位置,这就为打造一个有凝聚力的团队提供了坚实的基础。

明确沟通

要有效地管理团队,就必须以通俗易懂的方式传达具体目标、指示、限期和指令。 许多员工都希望充分发挥自己的才能,但当他们对现在的工作有疑惑时,就可能会感到非常沮丧。

仔细思考您要作出的指示,以及该如何解释。花时间把问题讲清楚,并留出充足时间给团队提问。确保维持一种平易近人的氛围,让员工在有任何不确定的问题时都敢于向您求助。

以身作则

因为您是领导,员工就会通过观察您来了解公司想要培养的行为。 这意味着您需要表现出强烈的职业道德,即使压力很大也要保持积极的态度,并在限期临近时为团队成员提供帮助。

如果连您也开会迟到,那么员工也就没有理由守时了。 如果您在工作高峰期容易感到有压力,那么您的员工也更容易情绪失控。因此,您必须意识到团队会以您作为他们的行为榜样。

鼓励创新

团队领导并不是好想法的垄断者。当每个人都有发言权,每个人的独特观点都会得到考虑时,团队才会更强大。

只有当团队成员能畅所欲言,不会感到尴尬或觉得自己很傻时,才会产生创新。通过向员工提问“你对此有何看法?”来让他们主动思考,而不是直接告诉他们要做什么,并由此营造一个认真对待新想法、鼓励创新的环境。

与员工进行公开对话,并通过展现个人的敬业态度为员工树立榜样,都有助于进行团队管理。如何管理好一个团队?这需要您做出努力和奉献,但一个管理良好的团队将在生产效率、员工忠诚度和创新方面取得显著成果。

获取更多管理建议

了解更多关于招聘和管理的建议。