How to avoid misunderstandings in the workplace

Misunderstandings can happen in all walks of life. But in the workplace, poor communication can lead to confusion, reduced productivity and, in the worst case scenario, the loss of key clients or the failure of major projects. As a manager, there are a number of steps you can take to improve communication across your entire team and avoid the problems caused by misunderstandings.

Communicate clearly – stick to the key points

When you are explaining tasks to team members, stick to the main points. Be clear and concise, and avoid confusing the issue by including irrelevant details or wandering off the topic. Be quite clear about what you need and expect – and provide specific dates or times for when tasks should be completed.

Focus on the conversation at hand

Whenever you are engaging with employees, give them your complete attention. It is a lot easier for misunderstandings to occur if you allow yourself to be distracted by phone calls, incoming emails or interruptions from other staff members.

Catch up with individuals after group meetings

If you’ve just held a group meeting to discuss important plans or a new project, don’t simply assume that everyone in attendance understands what they need to do. Take the time to catch up with each member of the project team to confirm that they know what their role is and how they fit into the bigger picture. This investment of your time at an early stage can prevent a costly misunderstanding at a later stage.

Confirm key issues in writing

Aim to provide a written outline of what you expect from your employees – particularly when there are key dates or targets to be met. This give employees further clarification, and a visual reminder of what you expect from them.

Be an active listener

Good communication doesn’t just involve what you say. It also hinges on how well you listen to others in order to absorb information.

No matter how busy you are, whenever an employee comes to you with a query, pay close attention to what they are saying. If necessary, sum up and repeat back to them what you believe are their main issues. This way you can be quite sure you are both addressing the same issues.

Don’t rely on third party information

When information is passed down from person to person, the message can easily become altered and this often leads to misunderstandings. This highlights the value of delivering key messages yourself.

Similarly, encourage your staff to come directly to you if they have a query rather than turning to co-workers, who may not provide an accurate response. Treat any such queries with patience and respect so that your people have the confidence to turn to you if they don’t understand something.

Making the effort to communicate clearly, and taking the time to genuinely listen to your employees, can avoid even minor misunderstandings, which could snowball to have a big impact on the company.

Looking to hire? Contact us to speak to one of our consultants

如何避免职场误会

误会在生活中可能经常发生。但在职场中,沟通不到位会导致工作混乱、效率降低,在最坏的情况下还会导致关键客户流失或重大项目失败。作为管理者,您可以采取许多措施来改进整个团队间的沟通,消除误会,避免因误会而造成问题。

清晰沟通 — 抓住重点

向团队成员说明任务时,请抓住重点,简明扼要,避免因不相关的细节或偏离主题而混淆问题。清楚说明自己的需求和期望,并提供任务应该完成的具体日期或时间。

将注意力集中在谈话上

无论何时,与员工交谈时都应全神贯注。如果因来电、收到电子邮件或其他员工的打断而分心,则更容易出现误会。

小组会议后与每位成员进行沟通

如果您刚召开了一次小组会议,来讨论重要计划或新项目,不要想当然地认为出席会议的每个人都知道他们需要做什么。花时间与项目团队的每位成员进行沟通,确认他们清楚自己的职责及在团队中担任的角色,从而消除误会。前期的时间投入能防止后期出现严重的误会。

以书面形式确认重要问题

提供书面提纲,说明您对员工的期望,尤其是涉及重要日期或需要达到的目标时。这就给员工作出了进一步阐述并提供了可视化的提醒。

做个积极的倾听者

良好的沟通不仅仅包括您说什么,还取决于您是否善于通过倾听来获取信息。

无论多忙,只要有员工向您提出问题,您都应该密切关注他们所说的内容。如有必要,总结并向他们复述您理解到的主要问题。这种方法能确保双方都在处理相同的问题。

不要依赖第三方信息

当信息由一个人传达给另一个人时,其内容很容易发生变化,这样常常会导致误会。由此可见,亲自传递关键消息至关重要。

同样,应鼓励员工有疑问的话,直接来找您,而不是求助于可能无法给出准确答案的同事。用尊重和耐心的态度对待这类情况,这样员工在遇到不理解的问题时就会大胆地向您寻求帮助。

如何避免职场误会?这需要管理者努力进行明确沟通,花时间真诚地倾听员工心声。如此,哪怕是很小的误会也可以避免,否则这些误会可能会像滚雪球一样最终对公司产生巨大的影响。

将您的招聘需求告诉我们,让我们帮助您找到最适合你们公司的人才。