The confusion you’ll encounter at the beginning of the job

The first few weeks in a new role can be challenging and full of confusion, particularly when navigating onboarding and probation. From meeting new colleagues and learning new tasks, to dealing with information overload and fitting in with a new team, these early days are often critical to the long term success on the job, so it’s important to start on the right foot.

With a bit of preparation and a clear plan of action, surviving your probationary period doesn’t need to be difficult.

Why is onboarding and probation important for new employees?

Onboarding is usually one of the first appointments scheduled at the beginning of the job. For the business, this is the process of integrating new staff into the company, and it’s where we as new hires begin to create a connection with the company. The benefits for employees are numerous:

  • We are introduced to the company culture
  • We receive clarification around our role, and establish our performance goals
  • We are introduced to the people and the tools we will need to succeed on the job
  • We are informed of our obligations of our job, both legal and professional, as well as the benefits we are entitled to

This is also when we are informed of the length of our probationary period, and what we need to accomplish in order to complete it successfully. When new to a job, or during the early stages of a career, probation can sound intimidating. But just like onboarding, it can also be beneficial to employees.

Probation is usually accompanied with a number of meetings to clarify and review performance. These meetings are a good opportunity to learn more about what is expected, and discuss any skill gaps that need to be addressed.

Making a good first impression

One of the most common fears people have when beginning a new job is making a good first impression. We know from research that there are two main traits people evaluate when meeting someone new: trustworthiness, and competence. This seems to be something we all do, no matter the culture in which we work.

There are several ways we can build a positive first impression:

  • Don’t be late to appointments. In fact, if possible, arrive a few minutes early.
  • Follow the hierarchy, and allow the most senior person to speak first and make introductions.
  • Remember, most workplaces are formal. If unsure, it’s better to err on the side of too formal than too casual. Refer to colleagues based on company’s culture: In multinational companies. first names are preferred ; while in local companies, they usually use surnames and titles. This also applies to business attire: suits are best, for both men and women.
  • If you move to a new city, it’s important to learn about local customs and business etiquette. For example, diet habit, traditional culture, customs, festival, dialect etc. It helps you get closer to your local colleagues.

Fitting in with a new team

Fitting in is another common concern for new staff members. The most important strategy to fit in with a new team is to listen and observe, and to make an effort to participate in team or company activities.

In reality, some business is conducted outside of the work office. Participating in these activities, usually lunches or dinners, not only has the benefit of getting to know your new teammates better, as well as any clients your team will be working with, but it also expands your own network, an invaluable resource that you will come to rely on over your career.

Feeling overwhelmed with all new information

Of course, it’s not unusual to feel overwhelmed from all the new people and information that these first few weeks bring. Psychologists call this Information Fatigue Syndrome or information overload, and it is very common in new employees. It usually results in poor concentration, a decreased capacity to make good decisions, as well as the inability to prioritise relevant information.

Feeling overwhelmed and confused at the beginning of a job is normal. It’s a challenging time in anyone’s career, and we’ve all been through it. The most important thing to do in these cases is to recognise that it’s a normal response to an excess of information. The good news is, this feeling is temporary. If possible, take a break and step away from the situation in order to calm the mind. If not, prioritise the tasks that need to be accomplished, and tackle each step one at a time. Don’t be afraid to reach out and ask for advice; it’s better to learn to do things the right way than to make mistakes during the early days of a new job. With time comes clarity, and as long as we prioritise tasks, get to know our new team, and build strong relationships, we are sure to see success on the job.

Discover more career advice

Learn more advice for your job seeking and career development.

新人入职初期会遇到的困惑

新人入职头几周总是充满了挑战和困惑,尤其是在入职培训和试用期间。从认识新同事、学习新任务,到处理过量信息和融入新团队,这些早期阶段对于在工作上取得长期成功至关重要,因此,必须迈出正确的第一步。

只要做好准备工作并制定一份清晰的行动计划,度过试用期并不难。

为什么入职培训和试用期对新员工来说很重要?

入职培训通常是新人入职的第一项任务之一。对于企业来说,这是使新员工融入公司的过程,也是新员工与公司建立联系的起点。对于员工来说,好处也很多:

  • 学习公司文化
  • 明确自己的角色定位,并设立他们的绩效目标
  • 认识能够在工作上帮助他们取得成功的同事和工具
  • 了解工作职责(包括法律方面和专业方面)和有权享受的福利

员工也将在这一时期知悉试用期时长和试用期结束时需要完成的目标。刚入职或在职业生涯初期时,试用期听起来总有些令人生畏,但它和入职培训一样对员工有益。

试用期间通常需要参加很多会议,对绩效进行说明和考核。这些会议就是非常好的机会,能够让您对公司预期有更多了解,并就需要解决的技能缺口展开讨论。

留下良好的第一印象

新人入职最常担心的是能否留下良好的第一印象。研究发现,人们在遇到新认识的人时,通常会从两大主要特性进行评估:可信度和能力。无论工作环境的文化是什么,似乎我们全都会这么做。

能够给人留下良好第一印象的方法有几种:

  • 赴约时不要迟到。最好提前几分钟到达。
  • 遵循等级制度,让职位最高的人先发言和作自我介绍。
  • 记住大多数工作场合都是正式的。如果不确定的话,宁可正式一些,也不要表现得太随意。此外,不同性质的企业内部的称呼习惯也不一样,外企和创业公司喜欢称呼英文名,国企则更偏好称呼职称和职级,这些信息在入职前最好有一些初步了解。这一点也适用于商务着装:无论男女,西装套装都是最佳选择。
  • 如果您是去一个新的城市工作,那么就有必要了解当地风俗和商务礼仪,包括饮食习惯,传统文化,节庆风俗甚至当地方言等,了解这些都有助于拉近您与当地同事的距离。

融入新团队

适应是新员工普遍关注的另一个问题。融入新团队最重要的策略就是倾听和观察,并积极参与团队或公司的活动。

在实际工作中,有不少业务都是在工作場所外谈成的。参与这些活动(通常是午餐或晚餐)的好处不只是能够对新队友和即将与团队合作的客户有更好的了解,还能扩大自己的人际网络,这一宝贵资源将对职业生涯大有裨益。

对全新信息感到不知所措

当然,在刚入职的几周内,对新认识的人和新获得的信息感到不知所措是很正常的情况。心理学家称之为信息疲劳综合症或信息过载,这在新员工中很常见。它通常会导致注意力不集中、做出良好决定的能力降低,以及无法确定相关信息的优先次序。

新人入职感到不知所措和困惑都是正常的。这一时期对每个人的职业生涯来说都是充满挑战的,而且我们都经历过。在这种时候,最重要的就是要认识到这是对信息过载的正常反应。好消息是,这种感觉只是暂时的。如果可能的话,稍作休息,脱离这种状态并让头脑冷静下来。如果无法休息,就把需要完成的任务按照优先次序排列,然后一步一步解决。不要害怕向别人寻求建议;在新工作初期,学会正确做事比犯错误要好得多。随着时间的推移,事情会逐渐变得清晰,只要我们能够分清轻重缓急,了解自己的团队,建立起牢固的关系,就一定能在工作中取得成功。

获取更多职业建议

了解更多关于求职和职业发展的建议。