How to encourage loyalty in the workplace

Aiming to encourage loyalty among employees makes good business sense. It reduces the cost of staff turnover, and allows your company to benefit from the skills and experience built up in your team. A variety of strategies can foster employee loyalty, often without creating any additional expense.

Encourage loyalty by rewarding effort

We all want to be acknowledged for a job well done, and an easy way to encourage loyalty is to give employees credit for an outstanding effort or excellent results. A simple email to team members sharing the good news and praising star employee can be sufficient to reward the person involved while also sending a broader message that individual efforts are recognised and appreciated.

Take time to talk with your team

In a busy working week it can be hard to find time to speak with individual employees. But instead of waiting for an annual review to hold a formal discussion with employees, aim to set aside a few minutes each month for some one on one time with individual team members. It’s a chance for them to let you know the challenges they are facing, and an opportunity for you to offer support and leadership.

You can choose to allocate time for scheduled check-ins, or just take advantage of a few quiet moments for a relaxed conversation. The simple act of demonstrating that you are interested in your people, and their professional progress, can do a lot to encourage loyalty.

Be flexible

Flexible work options can be just as attractive to employees as a higher salary, often allowing your team members to enjoy better work-life balance. If you have an employee who faces an especially long commute for example, consider offering the choice to work from home one or two days a week – if the role permits it. Allowing flexible working hours is another option that can be highly appreciated by employees, especially those who have young children.

These sorts of strategies can be particularly effective to encourage loyalty as employees may find the same level of workplace flexibility is hard to match with another employer.

Stay up to date with market salaries

We all like to be fairly rewarded for our efforts, and unless your company is paying market salaries it could be difficult to encourage loyalty in your team over the long term. By ensuring the salaries you offer are competitive, your people won’t be tempted to look elsewhere in the hope of earning higher pay.

An effective motivation and retention plan is always essential to retain top talent. But just showing employees that you are interested in their welfare, their progress and their achievements – and rewarding them appropriately, can form the foundation that helps your company encourage loyalty.

Discover more management advice

Learn more advice for your hiring and management.

如何在职场中提高员工忠诚度

提高员工忠诚度具有极高的商业价值。它能降低员工流动成本,让公司受益于在团队中积累的技能和经验。能够提员工忠诚度的策略有很多,而且通常不会产生任何额外费用。

通过嘉奖努力来提高忠诚度

我们都希望在表现出色时得到认可,因此提高员工忠诚度的一个简单方法,就是对员工的突出表现或优异成绩给予表扬。向所有团队成员发送一封简单的电子邮件,分享好消息并表扬杰出员工,就足以奖励相关人员,同时也能传达出一个更广泛的信息,即个人的努力会得到认可和赞赏。

抽空与团队成员进行交谈

在繁忙的工作时间里很难找到和员工单独交流的机会。但是也不要等到年度回顾时再与员工进行正式对话,每个月都可以抽点时间与团队成员进行一对一的交谈。他们可以趁此机会告诉您他们正在面临的挑战,您也可以借此机会提供支持和领导他们。

您可以安排固定的时间来进行交谈,也可以在闲暇时来一场轻松谈话。通过这种简单方式就能表达您对员工及其职业发展的关心,并能够大大提高员工忠诚度。

提供弹性工作

弹性工作模式对员工的吸引力可媲美高薪水,通常能让团队成员享受工作与生活之间的平衡。例如,如果有员工的通勤时间特别长,在角色允许的情况下,可以考虑给他们每周一到两天在家办公的机会。弹性工作时间是另一种深受员工喜爱的选择,尤其是有小孩的员工。

这种策略对提高忠诚度尤为有效,因为这些员工会发现,其他雇主很难达到同等水平的灵活性。

了解最新的市场薪资

我们都希望自己的努力能得到应有的回报,除非您给员工的薪水符合市场水平,否则很难让团队成员长期效忠。确保您提供的薪资具有竞争力,员工就不会为了寻求更高的薪资而另谋出路。

有效的激励和挽留计划对于留住顶尖人才至关重要。但只要向员工表明您关心他们的福利、发展和成绩,并适当地进行奖励,就能为提高员工忠诚度打下坚实基础。

获取更多管理建议

了解更多关于招聘和管理的建议。